Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available in 39 Counties + Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Following Hurricane Helene

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits are available if you lived or worked in the following counties:

Alexander	Lincoln	
Alleghany	Macon	
Ashe	Madison	
Avery	McDowell	
Buncombe	Mitchell	
Burke	Polk	
Caldwell	Rutherford	
Catawba	Transylvania	
Clay	Watauga	
Cleveland	Wilkes	
Gaston	Yancey	
Haywood	Eastern Band	
Henderson	of Cherokee	
Jackson	Indians	
The deadline to apply is December 2, 2024.		

Cabarrus	Nash	
Cherokee	Rowan	
Forsyth	Stanly	
Graham	Surry	
Iredell	Swain	
Lee	Union	
Mecklenburg	Yadkin	
The deadline to apply is December 9, 2024.		

People who lived or worked in the above-listed counties who are unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Helene may be eligible for unemployment benefits under the DUA program.

DUA is a federal unemployment program that provides temporary payments for people who, as a direct result of Hurricane Helene:

- · No longer have the job that provided their primary source of income.
 - · Are unable to reach their place of unemployment.
 - · Cannot work because of an injury caused by the storm.
- · Were unable to begin employment or self-employment due to the storm.
- · Have become the major supplier of household income due to a storm-related death of the previous major supplier of household income.

For more information, go to www.des.nc.gov/dua or call: DUA English – 919-629-3857 | DUA Spanish – 919-276-5698

